A view to Kosher Wine

Ein Simcha Ela BeBasar Veyayin
(“There is no joy except through eating meat and drinking wine”.)

Being a sommelier is a very sensitive and sensational position, as always a sommelier deals with guest expectations and work to exceed that with his knowledge and making availability of wines, which could help to quiche the guest thirst of wine, and to create perfect dinning experience, In current date it is very crucial that designing the wine list according to the market segmentation. As a sommelier it is always important to know the guest dietary requirement and his likes and dislikes to exceed the guest expectations, and if religious believe also take place with the guest preference then it is become more sensitive to handle. In todays wine industry one of the important and unavoidable is keeping Kosher wines in your list. For that essential knowledge about kosher wine is must for every sommelier.

In Today’s date a random word comes around in the Food and beverage industries is Kosher diet Food and beverages, there has been an increased demand for kosher wines and a number of wine producing countries now produce a wide variety of sophisticated kosher wines under strict rabbinical supervision, particularly in Israel, the United States, France, Germany, Italy, South Africa, Chile and Australia.

20103e1ce40cc6d2e655022e9e6e4e71

What is Kosher Wine?

Kosher wine is grape wine produced according to Judaism’s religious law, specifically, Jewish dietary laws (kashrut).

So what it is required to be kosher Wine?

To be considered kosher, Sabbath-observant Jews must supervise and sometimes handle the entire winemaking process, from the time the grapes are crushed until the wine is bottled and any ingredients used, including finings, must be kosher. While none of the ingredients that make up wine (alcohol, sugars, acidity and phenols) is considered non-kosher, the kashrut laws involving wine are concerned more with who handles the wine and what they use to make it.

kosher-wine

Note: – Wine that is described as “kosher for Passover” must have been kept free from contact with chametz, examples being grain, bread and dough.

How to Identify the Kosher Wine?

When kosher wine is produced, marketed and sold commercially, it would normally have a hechsher (“seal of approval”) of a kosher certification agency, or of an authoritative rabbi who is preferably also a posek (“decisor” of Jewish law), or be supervised by a beth din (“Jewish religious court of law”).publication1

In recent times, Two of the world’s largest producers and importers of kosher wines, Kedem and Manischewitz, are both based in the Northeastern United States.

History of Kosher Wine

The use of wine has a long history in Judaism, dating back to biblical times. Archeological evidence shows that wine was produced throughout ancient Israel. The traditional and religious use of wine continued within the Jewish diaspora community. In the United States, kosher wines came to be associated with sweet Concord wines produced by wineries founded by Jewish immigrants to New York.

Production of dry Kosher wine began in the 1980s, a trend towards producing dry, premium-quality kosher wines began with the revival of the Israeli wine industry. Today kosher wine is produced not only in Israel but also throughout the world, including premium wine areas like Napa Valley and the St-Emilion region of Bordeaux.

Role of wine in Jewish holidays and rituals

Almost all Jewish holidays, especially the Passover Seder where all present drink four cups of wine,

passovercups

on Purim for the festive meal, and on the Shabbat require obligatory blessings (Kiddush) over filled cups of kosher wine that are then drunk. Grape juice is also suitable on these occasions. If no wine or grape juice is present on Shabbat, the blessing over challah suffices. At Jewish marriages, circumcisions, and at Redemption of First-born ceremonies, the obligatory blessing of Borei Pri HaGafen (“Blessed are you O Lord, Who created the fruit of the vine”) is almost always recited over kosher wine (or grape juice).

According to the teachings of the Midrash, the forbidden fruit that Eve ate and which she gave to Adam was the grape from which wine is derived, though many [who?] would contest this and say that it was in fact a fig.

pent-14-8

The capacity of wine to cause drunkenness with its consequent loosening of inhibitions is described by the ancient rabbis in Hebrew as “nichnas yayin, yatza sod” which means “wine enters, and one’s personal secrets exit”

In recent days the availability of the kosher wine around the world has been increased rapidly, also by tasting experience comparing to the same appellation non-kosher wines, the wine is not much altered on its quality and taste.

Famous appellations such as Chablis, Sancerre, Bourgogne and Bordeaux is producing kosher wines.french_wines_fw

With all these basic information’s I hope you gained enough confident to list few kosher wines to your list and make your guest delightful.

 

Your’s,

sommelierArun

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s